“The Aftermath” is coming! Please can we skip the rejection? #ASMSG #Poetry


Iniquitous Solace: The Aftermath is coming… I know many of you can relate just as I have to a relationship reflected in poetry. She’s peeled away every bit of her broken self, and exposed it. The good, the bad, and the Aftermath of my heroine expressed thru rhythmic words and verse.

 

Thank you for supporting me through this tough time of the  original “Iniquitous Solace” being unpublished.    Think of it this way … those that bought it in print– Just might have a hot ticket item on their hands if I hit it big. -giggles-

 

 

I must be happy all the time

I must be the social butterfly

I must always be the life of the party

I must accept the small amount of niceties shown

I must be grateful for everything

Perfection

Not allowed to have a crappy day

Not allowed to have things affect me

Not allowed to be in a bad mood

Not allowed to be sad

Not allowed to think for myself

 .

Perfection

.

I can’t question anything

I can’t do anything

I can’t say anything…

.

Right

 .

Eggshells cut thru my socks

and into my feet as I walk the path of…

Perfection

 .

Begging to miss the dejection

Please can we skip the rejection?

.

Penelope Jones copyright 2013

33 responses to ““The Aftermath” is coming! Please can we skip the rejection? #ASMSG #Poetry

  1. there are no words for how much i love this. it is how i feel so often that only the happy parts are welcome. which is hard since i live so often amongst the shadows. i find that to be what makes me, well me. lovely my talented girl. xx

  2. Pingback: please can we skip the rejection? #ASMSG #Poetry | the sacred road

  3. I found myself in your words….what’s expected of me and how I am suppose to feel and act. And when I don’t act in the prescribed manner that I have seemed to always operate on and share it doesn’t go well. Find it better to just stay the course. Ill work it out instead in my head. Poignantly powerful.

  4. Really hit deeply….about 7 months ago I decided I didn’t want to be other’s perception of perfect anymore….still finding my feet but amazing how in its place I have found a truer happiness from within that I never thought I would ever find. Thank you for such a powerful piece x

  5. Wow, does this poem hit home! How do you do that?!! I recently realized that the person who expects the most perfection from me is me…gah! The knots we tangle ourselves in!!
    Thank you for more of your wonderful thought provoking words.

  6. I respectfully ask for snuggles too. But I’m a koala so that’s ok. 🙂 I have to update my links. I just put my blog up today and see your blog’s coding missed a > somewhere and didn’t go live. Drat.

Speak to me... I'll flirt back!

