I’m Selfish #Poetry #ASMSG #SelfAwareness


 

Self-awareness…

I learned it after the first few heart breaks

I wasn’t going to have another reason to ache

I discovered I love too easily,

I give too much,

and I no long am a butter fly that wishes to fly

 

Self-defense…

I learned it after the first few beatings

I wasn’t going to have another reason to ache

I listen for pitches in voice to change,

the posture of body,

the veins popping out in the neck.

 

Self-preservation…

I learned it after the first few times I was let down

I wasn’t going to have another reason to ache

I hold less stock in words than actions,

we teach people how to treat us,

and life isn’t a fucking bowl of cherries.

 

Self…

Is the root word of selfish …

 

If being self-aware leads to self-defense, which then leads to self-preservation makes me selfish…

 

I’m selfish!

 

 

by Penelope Jones copyright 2013

16 responses to “I’m Selfish #Poetry #ASMSG #SelfAwareness

  1. i could also leave you left out or missing a great person or moment in time self preservation is good but to many walls leads to a self made prision

  2. A new take on being “Self-ish” as only you could envision Penny… Gives us all a renewed take on this often mis-understood word indeed… 🌟 and I might add… you were not selfish this day in presenting this to us all… *smiles* ≧◔◡◔≦

  3. There are times one needs that “self” preservation, to turtle and pull inside the shell.
    Just don’t forget to peek out now and again and feel some sunshine 🙂

    Hugs

    Yes, back from my road trip.

  4. Beautiful! Although I realise that you weren’t writing about being selfish per se, everyone needs to be a little selfish now and again. It let’s us restock and recharge so that we can lavish our attentions on everyone else again.

    And if you are in dark place at the moment, I hope there’s some light at the end of the tunnel coming your way soon ~

    • I actually am not in a dark place right now, but I was when I wrote that poem. I’ve since kicked the crazy out of my life! 🙂

      Thank you for taking the time to read and comment!

      P

Speak to me... I'll flirt back!

